The A4 Study

Hear from Dr. Reisa Sperling and other Alzheimer's experts about what makes the A4 study so unique and why now is the time to volunteer.

The A4 Study

The A4 Study

What do Participants Do?
Read and sign a consent form.
Give family and medical History.
Answer questions that test your memory, thinking, mood, and concentration.
Complete a brief neurological examination.
Provide a blood, urine and lumbar fluid sample.
Receive a free once a month IV of the treatment or placebo for 39 months
Receive a free ECG (a look at your heart)
Receive a free PET scan and MRI (pictures of your brain)
Have a study partner- someone who you see regularly who can answer questions about your health and memory function
Why is this Study Important?
Alzheimer’s-related brain changes take place years, even decades before symptoms appear. Scientists are hopeful that if they can intervene at the earliest possible stage, they may be able to stop or slow the progression of the disease. The A4 Study is an important clinical trial in several respects. First, it will see if they can prevent memory loss from progressing into Alzheimer’s disease by treating older individuals who may be at slightly higher risk. Secondly, they have an ambitious goal of screening at least 1000 African Americans for the study to get the 100 who are the perfect fit. This is absolutely essential if we are to find out why African Americans are twice as likely to get Alzheimer’s disease. Less than 5 percent of those who participate in clinical trials are African Americans despite the fact that we make up over 13 percent of the U.S. population. To ensure that Alzheimer’s treatments are both safe and effective for all, including African Americans, we must significantly increase the number of minority research volunteers.
What are the study facts?
Study participation is voluntary.
All information is confidential.
There is no cost to the family.
A participant may withdraw from the study at any time.
The A4 study lasts for three and one half years and participants will be required to visit the research site once a month.
Monetary compensation is offered at many sites as well as reimbursement of transportation costs
Who can join the Study?

You may be eligible to join the A4 Study if you:

Are 65 to 85 years old
Have normal thinking and memory abilities for your age
Have a study partner (someone who has weekly contact with you and is willing to answer questions once a year).

Enroll in the Study Today!

Who is sponsoring the study?
The A4 study is a landmark public-private partnership, funded by the National Institute on Aging, Eli Lilly and Company, and several philanthropic organizations. The A4 study is coordinated by the Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study, located at the University of California, San Diego.
StateCitySiteContactTelephoneEmail
ALBirminghamUniversity of Alabama, BirminghamDenise Ledlow(205)934-6223pdledlow@uab.edu
AZPhoenixBanner Alzheimer's InstituteCandy Monarrez(602)839-6939candy.monarrez@bannerhealth.com
AZSun CityBanner Sun Health Research InstituteZoran Obradov(623)832-6526zoran.obradov@bannerhealth.com
CAIrvineUniversity of California, IrvineCatherine M McAdams-Ortiz(949)824-8726cmcadams@uci.edu
CAIrvineUniversity of California, Irvine - Brain Imaging CenterAndrea Sabrina Weideman(714)456-5697andrea.weideman@uci.edu
CAIrvineUC Irvine - Institute for Memory Impairments & Neurological DisordersBeatriz Yanez(949)824-3250byanez@uci.edu
CALa JollaUniversity of California, San DiegoHelen Vanderswag(858)246-1245hvanderswag@ucsd.edu
CALos AngelesUniversity of Southern CaliforniaMauricio Becerra(323)442-7594mjbecerr@usc.edu
CALos AngelesUniversity of California, Los AngelesCeline Ossinalde(310)794-6191cossinalde@mednet.ucla.edu
CAPalo AltoStanford University School of MedicineEmily Gere(650)852-3287emilyg@stanford.edu
CASacramentoUniversity of California, DavisKatharine Vieira(925)372-2485kevieira@ucdavis.edu
CASan FranciscoUniversity of California, San FranciscoEmmeline L. Chuu(415)476-0671echuu@memory.ucsf.edu
CTNew HavenYale University School of MedicineBarbaralynn Moseman(203)764-8100barbaralynn.moseman@yale.edu
DCWashingtonGeorgetown UniversityErica Christian(202)687-8800ec912@georgetown.edu
DCWashingtonHoward UniversityOludolapo O. Ogunlana(202)865-3776oogunlana@howard.edu
FLJacksonvilleMayo Clinic, JacksonvilleDana Lynn Haley(904)953-9680haley.dana@mayo.edu
FLMiami BeachWien Center for Clinical ResearchMaria T Greig-Custo(305)674-2121 Ext. 54480Maria.Greig-Custo@msmc.com
FLPalm BeachPremiere Research InstituteTeresa Villena(561)845-0500 ext 124tvillena@aol.com
FLTampaUniversity of South Florida - Health Byrd Alzheimer InstituteJill aka Ardila Smith(813)974-4355jsmith10@health.usf.edu
GAAtlantaEmory UniversityGail Schwartz(404)728-6395gschwar@emory.edu
IAIowa CityUniversity of IowaKaren Ekstam Smith(319)353-5158karen-ekstam@uiowa.edu
ILChicagoNorthwestern UniversityKristine Lynn Lipowski(312)503-2486k-lipowski@northwestern.edu
ILChicagoRush University Medical CenterLindsay M Pluff(312)563-4111Lindsay_M_Pluff@rush.edu
INIndianapolisIndiana UniversityNancy McClaskey(317)963-7429nmcclask@iupui.edu
KSKansas CityUniversity of KansasBecky Rebecca Jo Bothwell(913)945-5033rbothwell@kumc.edu
KYLexingtonUniversity of KentuckyHeather D Nichols(859)323-3145hdnich2@email.uky.edu
MABostonBrigham and Women's HospitalAlison Pietras(617)278-0376apietras@partners.org
MABostonBoston UniversityJane Mwicigi(617)638-5670jmwicigi@bu.edu
MDBaltimoreJohns Hopkins UniversityJulia J Pedroso(410)550-9054jpedroso@jhmi.edu
MIAnn ArborUniversity of Michigan, Ann ArborJoanne L Lord(734)647-7760jllord@umich.edu
MNRochesterMayo Clinic, RochesterSara S. Mason(507)293-4711Mason.Sara@mayo.edu
MOSt. LouisWashington University, St. LouisPamela Millsap(314)286-2363millsapp@abraxas.wustl.edu
NCWinston-SalemWake Forest University Health SciencesErin caulder(336)713-8847ecaulder@wakehealth.edu
NEOmahaUniversity of Nebraska Medical CenterBarbara Bayer(402)552-6005blbayer@unmc.edu
NVLas VegasCleveland Clinic Lou Ruvo Center for Brain HealthMichelle B Sholar(702)483-6026sholarm@ccf.org
NYAmherstDent Neurologic InstituteCaroline R Kumm(716)819-4117ckumm@dentinstitute.com
NYAmherstDent Neurologic InstituteMichelle Rainka(716)250-2038mrainka@dentinstitute.com
NYNew YorkWeill Cornell Memory Disorders ProgramErin Hibbard(212)746-6580erh2009@med.cornell.edu
NYNew YorkMount Sinai School of MedicineMichael T Kinsella(212)659-8883michael.kinsella@mssm.edu
NYNew YorkColumbia UniversityRuth Tejeda(212)305-7661rbt41@columbia.edu
NYNew YorkNew York University Medical CenterChristina Michel(212)263-0771Christina.michel@nyumc.org
NYOrangeburgNathan Kline Institute for Psychiatric ResearchVita Pomara(845)398-5582vpomara@nki.rfmh.org
NYRochesterUniversity of Rochester Medical CenterSusan Salem-Spencer(585)760-6562susan_salem-spencer@urmc.rochester.edu
OHClevelandCase Western Reserve UniversityMaria Gross(216)464-6454Maria.Gross@uhhospitals.org
OKTulsaTulsa Clinical ResearchRita Smith(918)743-2349rita.smith@tulsaclinicalresearch.com
ORPortlandOregon Health & Science UniversityElisabeth Loree(503)494-7615loree@ohsu.edu
PAPhiladelphiaUniversity of PennsylvaniaJessica Nunez-Lopez(215)662-4379Jessica.Nunez@uphs.upenn.edu
PAPhiladelphiaDrexel University College of MedicineKate Joan Bowen(215)762-1776kbowen@drexelmed.edu
PAPittsburghUniversity of PittsburghKaty Marie Zorich(412)692-2730orchowskik3@upmc.edu
RIProvidenceRhode Island HospitalMichele Astphan(401)444-2484mastphan@lifespan.org
RIProvidenceButler Hospital Memory and Aging ProgramDiane Monast(401)455-6403dmonast@butler.org
TXDallasUniversity of Texas, Southwestern MC at DallasKathleen Koch(214)648-9343kathleen.koch@utsouthwestern.edu
TXHoustonBaylor College of MedicineKimberley D Brown(713)798-5385kdbrown@bcm.edu
UTSalt Lake CityUniversity of UtahJosh Amaro(801)581-3986Josh.Amaro@hsc.utah.edu
WASeattleUniversity of WashingtonAnita Ranta(206)764-2339rantaa@uw.edu
WIMadisonUniversity of WisconsinZachary Zugin(608)256-1901 Ext. 1640zcz@medicine.wisc.edu

Canada Clinical Study Research Sites Participating in the A4 Study:

SiteCityStateContactTelephoneEmail
University of British Columbia, Clinic for AD & RelatedVancouverBritish ColumbiaBenita Mudge(604)822-7990benita.mudge@vch.ca
Parkwood HospitalLondonOntarioPatricia Sargeant(519)685-4292 Ext. 42896Patriciarsargeant@sjhc.london.on.ca
Sunnybrook Health Sciences CentreTorontoOntarioJoanne Lawrence(416) 480-6108joanne.lawrence@sunnybrook.ca
Toronto Memory ProgramTorontoOntarioAtif Shaikh(416)386-9761ashaikh@memorydisorders.ca

Australia Clinical Study Research Sites Participating in the A4 Study:

SiteCityStateContactTelephoneEmail
University of MelbourneMelbourneVictoriaMaree Mastwyk+61 3 9389 2943maree.mastwk@florey.edu.au
^ Back to Top